1 Vote For You

Voter Login

To vote you must log in using your AAS username and password. Your AAS
username is commonly your AAS member ID number.

Forgot your username or password?

Contact our membership department by email at membership@aas.org
or call 202-328-2010 and press 4.

HEAD 2012 Election

High Energy Astrophysics Division Election 2012 - Voting Ends on 28 December 2012 at 11:59 PM (Eastern Time Zone)


The 2012 election for HEAD Executive Committee Members, HEAD Treasurer, and HEAD Secretary is now open, and will close on 28 December 2012.

You will need your AAS member login ID (which defaults to your membership number), and your password.

You can vote for up to two of the four candidates for HEAD Executive Committee Members:

  • Theresa J. Brandt, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Daryl Haggard, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Northwestern University
  • Henric Krawczynski, Washington University in St. Louis
  • David J. Thompson, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

The successful candidates will serve as HEAD Executive Committee Members for 3 years.

You can vote for up to one of the one candidates for HEAD Treasurer:

  • Keith Arnaud, Center for Research Excellence in Space Science and Technology, Goddard Space Flight Center and Department of Astronomy, University of Maryland

The successful candidate will serve as HEAD Treasurer for 3 years.

You can vote for up to one of the one candidates for HEAD Secretary:

  • Randall Smith, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory

The successful candidate will serve as HEAD Secretary for 3 years.

Current time: Monday, 24 November 2014, 08:30:05 am EST (-05:00 GMT)

Voting opened: Thursday, 29 November 2012, 12:00:00 am EST (-05:00 GMT)
Voting closed: Friday, 28 December 2012, 11:59:59 pm EST (-05:00 GMT)

The time has passed to vote on this ballot.

You must log in to vote.

HEAD Executive Committee Member


The HEAD Executive Committee (EC) has general charge of the affairs of the Division, and through the Chair or Secretary reports the activities and needs of the Division to the AAS Council. The EC meets at least once per year, twice per year when there is a separate HEAD meeting. EC members are responsible for selecting the Rossi prize, organizing HEAD meetings (selecting invited speakers, choosing special sessions, and selecting contributed talks) and have other duties as described in the HEAD bylaws.

Term Elected For: 2013-2016
Currently Serving:
  • Jack Hughes (2010-13)
  • Frits Paerels (2010-13)
  • Belinda Wilkes (2010-13)
  • Rosanne DiStefano (2011-14)
  • Stephen Reynolds (2011-14)
  • Jan Vrtilek (2011-14)
  • Joshua Bloom (2012-15)
  • Paolo Coppi (2012-15)

Please select up to 2 option(s).

HEAD Treasurer


The Treasurer shall handle the funds and make disbursements in accordance with a budget approved by the Committee with due regard to Article VII, Para. 4 of the By-laws of the Society. The Treasurer shall work directly with the Treasurer of the Society and the financial department of the Society's executive office. The Treasurer shall submit to the Committee an annual financial report which, after approval by the Committee, shall be submitted to the Council. The Treasurer shall assist the Committee with arrangements for meetings of the division, particularly with any financial arrangements such as sponsorship of the meeting and contractual arrangements for future meeting sites (to be coordinated with the Society who acts on behalf of the Committee in contractual matters). The Society shall collect the enrollment fees and divisional dues set by the Committee and approved by a majority of the Division members present at a business session.

Term Elected For: 2013-2016
Currently Serving: Keith Arnaud

Please select up to 1 option(s).

HEAD Secretary


The Secretary shall send out necessary notices and announcements to the members of the Committee and to members of the Division, and shall work directly with the Society's executive office and the Society's Secretary. Announcements of meetings of the Division shall be prepared by the Secretary and transmitted to the appropriate officer of the Society for publication and distribution to all Society members at least nine weeks before the date of each meeting. The Secretary shall assist the Committee with arrangements for the meeting and for publication (if any) of the proceedings. The Secretary shall also coordinate elections as described in the By-laws. The Secretary shall also prepare minutes of each meeting of the Committee, and of the Business Sessions of the Division, and submit these minutes to each member of the Committee and to the Secretary of the Society within three weeks after each meeting.

Term Elected For: 2013-2016
Currently Serving: Randall Smith

Please select up to 1 option(s).

Your ballot selections will not be submitted until you have reviewed and approved your choices on the next page.