1 Vote For You

Voter Login

To vote you must log in using your AAS username and password. Your AAS
username is commonly your AAS member ID number.

Forgot your username or password?

Contact our membership department by email at membership@aas.org
or call 202-328-2010 and press 4.

AAS 2014 Election Ballot

Balloting for the 2014 election of AAS officers and councilors is now open; voting will close on 31 January 2014 at 11:59 pm Eastern Standard Time.

Below is the current Nominating Committee’s slate of candidates for officers and councilors. New candidates for the Nominating Committee itself were proposed by the membership at our annual business meeting in Indianapolis in June 2013.

We are grateful to all the AAS members who have agreed to stand for election. Click on the “About” link next to each name to read each candidate’s statement.

Note that while you can see the candidates’ names and read their statements without logging in, you must log in to vote.

If you would prefer to use a paper ballot, you may request one from Crystal Tinch by calling 202-328-2010 x115, emailing ballot@aas.org, or faxing 202-234-2560. Please include your AAS member number, if possible.

Current time: Monday, 24 November 2014, 02:42:30 am EST (-05:00 GMT)

Voting opened: Thursday, 12 December 2013, 11:59:59 pm EST (-05:00 GMT)
Voting closed: Friday, 31 January 2014, 11:59:59 pm EST (-05:00 GMT)

The time has passed to vote on this ballot.

You must log in to vote.

Nominating Committee

Description: The Nominating Committee prepares slates of candidates for officers and councilors and helps prepare slates of candidates to serve on the Publications Board and Astronomy Education Board, as specified in the Constitution & Bylaws.

Term Elected For: 3 years, position open: 1

Currently Serving:
  • Joan T. Schmelz, Chair
  • Elizabeth L. Blanton
  • Arne A. Henden
  • Massimo Marengo
  • Terry D. Oswalt
  • Virginia L. Trimble
  • Please select up to 1 option(s).

    • About
    • About
    • About
    • About


    Description: The vice-presidents, as representatives of the Council, are responsible for the overall scientific content of the Society's major meetings. They select invited speakers, review proposals for special sessions, and support and advise the Executive Officer in maintaining the scientific quality of the program. The two senior VPs serve on the Executive Committee.

    Term Elected For: 3 years, position open: 1

    Currently Serving:
  • Edward B. Churchwell
  • Paula Szkody
  • Chryssa Kouveliotou
  • Please select up to 1 option(s).


    Description: The Treasurer is responsible for the financial affairs of the Society and keeps full and accurate accounts of receipts and disbursements in the Society's books. He or she deposits or invests all monies or other valuable effects in the name of the Society in such depositories or investments as are selected by the Council. The Treasurer prepares an annual report to the Council on the financial condition of the Society and secures regular audits of the Society's financial operations.

    Term Elected For: 3 years, position open: 1

    Currently Serving:
  • Hervey (Peter) Stockman
  • Please select up to 1 option(s).

    • About


    Description: As members of the governing board of the AAS, councilors have the legal responsibility to manage, direct, and control the affairs and property of the Society. Within the limits of the Bylaws, the Council determines the policies of the Society and changes to them, and it has discretion in the disbursement of the Society's funds.

    Term Elected For: 3 years, position open: 3

    Currently Serving:
  • Bruce Balick
  • Eileen D. Friel
  • Angela Speck
  • Nancy S. Brickhouse
  • Todd J. Henry
  • Steven D. Kawaler
  • Geoffrey Clayton
  • Dawn Gelino
  • Dara J. Norman
  • Please select up to 3 option(s).


    Description: The U.S. National Committee for the International Astronomical Union (USNC-IAU) represents the interests of the U.S. astronomical community and safeguards the intellectual vigor of the Union.

    Term Elected For: 3 years, position open: 1

    Currently Serving:
  • Bruce Balick
  • G. Fritz Benedict
  • Roger Chevalier
  • Marc Davis
  • Neil Gehrels
  • Edward F. Guinan
  • Sara R. Heap
  • David J. Helfand
  • Lynne Hillenbrand
  • Kenneth I. Kellermann
  • Arlo U. Landolt
  • Kevin B. Marvel
  • David N. Spergel
  • Jill C. Tarter
  • Robert E. Williams
  • Please select up to 1 option(s).

    Your ballot selections will not be submitted until you have reviewed and approved your choices on the next page.