1 Vote For You

Voter Login

To vote you must log in using your AAS username and password. Your AAS
username is commonly your AAS member ID number.

Forgot your username or password?

Contact our membership department by email at membership@aas.org
or call 202-328-2010 and press 4.

SPD 2014 Election

Solar Physics Division Election Ballot 2014 - Voting Ends on 18 April, 2014 at 11:59 PM (Eastern Time Zone)


The 2014 election for SPD Vice-Chair and Committee Person is now open, and will close on 18 April, 2014.

You will need your AAS member login ID (which defaults to your membership number), and your password.

You should vote for one of the two candidates for Vice-Chair:

  • Dana Longcope, Montana State University
  • Sarah Gibson, NCAR/HAO

The successful candidate will serve for one year as Vice-Chair, then two years as Chair and a fourth year as Vice-Chair, plus two years as Committee person.

You should vote for one of the two candidates for Committee person:

  • Mark Cheung, Lockheed Martin Solar & Astrophysics Laboratory
  • Nicholeen Viall, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

The successful candidate will serve on the committee for two years.

Current time: Saturday, 25 October 2014, 04:35:47 pm EDT (-04:00 GMT)

Voting opened: Friday, 14 March 2014, 12:00:00 am EDT (-04:00 GMT)
Voting closed: Friday, 18 April 2014, 11:59:59 pm EDT (-04:00 GMT)

The time has passed to vote on this ballot.

You must log in to vote.

Vice Chair

Description: The Vice-Chairperson may act for the Chairperson at the latter's request and shall act for the Chairperson in the event that the latter cannot discharge the duties of the office. The Vice-Chairperson shall with the assistance of the Program Committee, be responsible for organizing the scientific programs of the Division.
Term Elected For: June 2014 - June 2015
Currently Serving: David Alexander

Please select up to 1 option(s).

Committee Person

Description: The Committee shall meet at least once each year. A request in writing from at least three members of the Committee shall render a convocation of an additional meeting of the Committee obligatory. Any member of the Committee unable to attend the meeting shall have the privilege of naming an alternate representative to participate in the meeting without vote, subject to the approval of the Chairperson. At any meeting of the Committee, five of its members shall constitute a quorum.
Term Elected For: June 2014 - June 2016
Currently Serving: Thomas Berger, Shadia Habbal, Therese Kucera, Brian Welsch, and Stephen White

Please select up to 1 option(s).

Your ballot selections will not be submitted until you have reviewed and approved your choices on the next page.