1 Vote For You

Voter Login

To vote you must log in using your AAS username and password. Your AAS
username is commonly your AAS member ID number.

Forgot your username or password?

Contact our membership department by email at membership@aas.org
or call 202-328-2010 and press 4.

AAS 2013 Election

American Astronomical Society Election Ballot 2013 - Voting Ends on 31 January 2013 at 11:59 PM (Eastern Time Zone)


The 2013 election for AAS President, AAS Vice President, AAS Secretary, AAS Councilors, and AAS Nominating Committee is now open, and will close on 31 January 2013.

You will need your AAS member login ID (which defaults to your membership number), and your password.

You can vote for one of the two candidates for President:

  • Chris Impey, University of Arizona
  • Meg Urry, Yale University

The President will become the AAS President-Elect in June 2013.

You can vote for one of the two candidates for Vice-President:

  • Chryssa Kouveliotou, NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center
  • Nancy D. Morrison, The University of Toledo

The successful candidate will serve as Vice-President for three years.

You can vote for one of the one candidates for Secretary:

  • George F. (Fritz) Benedict, McDonald Observatory, University of Texas

The successful candidate will serve as Secretary for three years.

You can vote for three of the six candidates for Councilor:

  • Sarbani Basu, Yale University, Department of Astronomy
  • Geoffrey Clayton, Louisiana State University
  • Dawn M. Gelino, NASA Exoplanet Science Institute (NExScI), IPAC, Caltech
  • Jeff Mangum, National Radio Astronomy Observatory
  • Dara J. Norman, National Optical Astronomy Observatory
  • Nicole S. van der Bliek, National Optical Astronomy Observatory

The successful candidates will serve as Councilor for three years.

You can vote for two of the four candidates for Nominating Committee:

  • Rica Sirbaugh French, MiraCosta College
  • Massimo Marengo, Iowa State University
  • Jacob Noel-Storr, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Virginia Trimble, University of California, Irvine

The successful candidates will serve on the Nominating Committee for three years.

Current time: Monday, 24 November 2014, 07:09:11 pm EST (-05:00 GMT)

Voting opened: Thursday, 13 December 2012, 12:00:00 am EST (-05:00 GMT)
Voting closed: Thursday, 31 January 2013, 11:59:59 pm EST (-05:00 GMT)

The time has passed to vote on this ballot.

You must log in to vote.


  • Presides over Council meetings;
  • Serves on the Council as President-Elect, President and Past-President;
  • Presides over the Annual Business Meeting;
  • Chairs Executive Committee;
  • Represents the AAS at official functions and before other organizations;
  • Serves when required as official spokesperson for the AAS;
  • Appoints members to various AAS committees.

Term: One (1) year as President-Elect, two (2) years as President and one (1) year as Past-President

Term Elected For: 2 years
Currently Serving: David Helfand

Please select up to 1 option(s).


  • Serves on Council;
  • Responsible for selecting invited speakers for AAS meetings;
  • Responsible for overall scientific content of AAS meetings;
  • Two senior Vice-Presidents serve on the Executive Committee.
Term Elected For: 3 years
Currently Serving: Debra Elmegreen, Nicholas Suntzeff, Edward Churchwell, Paula Szkody

Please select up to 1 option(s).

  • About
  • About


  • Voting Member of the Executive Committee and Council;
  • Preparing and distributing the agendas and minutes of Council Meetings;
  • Official signor for the AAS;
  • Sits on AIP Governing Board (when elected);
  • Member and Secretary, USNC-IAU;
  • Collects, counts and certifies ballots for all Society elections;
  • Solicits nominations for AAS awards; and
  • Selects session chairs for meetings.
Term Elected For: 3 years
Currently Serving: George F. (Fritz) Benedict

Please select up to 1 option(s).

  • About


  • Serve as part of the governing board of the AAS; and
  • Have the legal responsibility to help make all decisions to manage, direct, and control the affairs and property of the Society.
Term Elected For: 3 years
Currently Serving: Edward F. Guinan, Patricia Knezek, Robert Mathieu, Bruce Balick, Eileen D. Friel, Angela Speck, Nancy S. Brickhouse, Todd J. Henry, Steven D. Kawaler

Please select up to 3 option(s).

Nominating Committee

  • Nominate candidates for the positions of Officers and Councilors of the AAS for election by membership. For positions of Treasurer, Secretary, and Education Officer, the decision is made in consultation with the Executive Committee of the AAS.
Term Elected For: 3 years
Currently Serving: Susana E. Deustua (Chair), Elizabeth L. Blanton, Arne A. Henden, Terry D. Oswalt, Joan T. Schmelz, David R. Silva

Please select up to 2 option(s).

Your ballot selections will not be submitted until you have reviewed and approved your choices on the next page.